Professor Hillary Maddin Receives Ontario Research Funds

Friday, September 9, 2016

A host of dignitaries were in attendance for the Ontario Research Funds/Early Researcher Awards announcement that was made yesterday at the University of Ottawa

From left to right: Dr. Nimal Rajapakse, Vice-President (Research and International) at Carleton University, Dr. Sylvain Charbonneau, Associate Vice-President Research at the University of Ottawa, Jennifer Bond, Associate Professor of Common Law at the University of Ottawa, Yasir Naqvi, MPP for Ottawa Center and Attorney General of Ontario, Dr. Hillary Maddin, Professor of Earth Sciences at Carleton University, John Fraser, MPP for Ottawa South and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Health and Jacques FrĂ©mont, President of the University of Ottawa 


The most recent Ontario Research Funds (ORF) and Early Reseacher Award (ERA) winners were announced yesterday at a reception at the University of Ottawa. Professor Hillary Maddin received an ORF award. This award is of equal value to the Canada Foundation for Innovation’s (CFI) John R. Evans Leaders Fund that she received earlier this year. The two awards combined total more than $218, 000. This money will be used to fund the infrastructure of her new fluorescence microscopy lab. Dr. Maddin is currently studying the evolution and development of the amphibian skull.