Celebrating success in 2008

Thursday, January 1, 2009

The Faculty of Science hosted its annual Faculty reception in December to recognize and celebrate our success in 2008 and to honour faculty and staff members for their outstanding work.  Each year we present the Faculty of Science teaching award, an award to celebrate excellent teaching in our Faculty, and the World of Difference award to celebrate excellence in service provided by our valued support staff.

This year’s Faculty of Science teaching award recipients are:

Brett Stevens, associate professor in the School of Mathematics and Statistics, received comments in his teaching evaluations that include, “Thanks for the kindness and the positive, enthusiastic attitude,” “The most enjoyable class I’m taking this term,” and “Brett has gone above and beyond to help with my problems outside the classroom.  He is a great teacher who should be properly compensated.” 

His expertise extends beyond the classroom as he regularly shares his enthusiasm about math with the public, including his popular MathRadio series on CBC Radio One.  Brett’s colleagues nominated him based on his dedication to education and his students, his involvement in promoting mathematics to high school students, teachers and the general public.

Wayne Horn, instructor in the School of Mathematics and Statistics, was nominated based on his valuable and substantial contributions to undergraduate education since joining Carleton in 2006.  Last year, he coordinated a study to assist students experiencing difficulties in first-year calculus courses.  Not only did he set up remedial sessions for students, he also gave up his Saturdays to teach some of the lectures as well.  In his course reviews students have said, “I’m not in your section, but I come to your class because you’re a great teacher,” and “Wayne is one of the best math teachers I’ve ever had.”  Wayne was nominated on the basis of his proven experience in teaching and his dedication to education and his students. 

In each of assistant professor Heather Logan’s first two years in the department of physics at Carleton University, she received the highest teaching evaluation scores in her department, an amazing achievement for a new faculty member. 

Her dedication to the department extends to current and prospective students.  Her work with one of her NSERC USRA student resulted in the publication of a paper, an extraordinary accomplishment.  On her own accord, she took on a project to provide students with an undergraduate handbook to guide them through the physics program.   Heather’s colleagues on the Tenure and Promotion Committee in the Department of Physics nominated her unanimously.

This year’s Faculty of Science World of Difference award recipients are:

Beth Halfkenny is respected not only within her department and the Faculty for her outreach initiatives, but by high school teachers and individuals within the industry.  This year she organized the first Explore Geoheritage Day to educate the general public about how geological processes have shaped the regional landscape.  Her nominators, Brian Cousens, Claudia Schroder-Adams and Mandy Sinclair, have indicated that her enthusiasm is infectious and that it motivates others around her. 

Elena Munteanu and Mastaneh Azad have made a significant contribution during a large construction project this past summer.  These two lab coordinators were instrumental in all stages of the Superlab construction from providing input into the lab’s design to packing up the old labs and moving into their new space.  As their nominators, Jeff Manthorpe, Peter Mosher and Peter Buist indicate, these two lab coordinators ensured a smooth transition for the students and we are very lucky to have them here for this major project.   Their departmental chair, Bob Burk, says, the new lab has made a world of difference to the department, but would not have happened without these two hard-working dedicated individuals.