Graduate students from the Ottawa-Carleton Geoscience Center take 3rd place at the AAPG’s IBA competition within the Canada Region

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

The proud OCGC team. From left to right: Curran Wearmouth, Stephanie Roussel, Dylan Cochrane, Matthew Braun and Tyler Billington.

The proud OCGC team. From left to right: Curran Wearmouth, Stephanie Roussel,
Dylan Cochrane, Matthew Braun and Tyler Billington.

Last Friday, March 10th, a team of graduate students from the Ottawa-Carleton Geoscience Center (OCGC consisting of Departments of Earth Sciences at University of Ottawa and Carleton University) came in 3rd place in the Imperial Barrel Award (IBA) 2017 in the Canada Region. This is the first time, a team from OCGC joined to participate in this prestigious competition, which is annually organized by the American Association of Petroleum Geology (AAPG).

The IBA is a rigorous basin-prospective competition for geoscience graduate students from universities around the world. Semi-final competitions are held locally among numerous University teams participating within their own regions or sections. The regional winners will then participate in the final IBA Worldwide Competition at the AAPG Annual Convention, which this year will take place in Houston, Texas.

In the Canada Region, this year five teams from University of Alberta, University of Calgary, OCGC, Dalhousie University, and McMaster University meticulously evaluated the same industry dataset of an assigned basin or area during two months, including relevant sedimentological and stratigraphic details, biostratigraphy, structural geology, 2D/3D seismic, well data, petrophysical logs, core analyses, well tests, production values, and others. On the day of the competition, each team proposed and discussed a technical assessment of the petroleum potential of the basin to a panel of senior industry experts. They also identified key plays and drilling prospects, petroleum systems, risks and economic appraisals, and finally made thoughtful recommendations for future exploration and production activities.

The enthusiastic OCGC team consisting of Tyler Billington, Curran Wearmouth, Dylan Cochrane, Matthew Braun, and Stephanie Roussel had an novel and impressive performance in the competition. Under the faculty supervision of Professor George Dix, they worked intensively in preparing a sound technical evaluation as oil/gas professionals do on the daily basis. Congratulations!

For those geoscience students who will be interested in organizing and participating in the IBA in future years, as well as in attending technical talks and field trips related to petroleum geosciences, feel free to contact the current representatives of OCGC - AAPG Student Chapter at tbill090 [at] uottawa [dot] ca